The Barsetshire Chronicles

Anthony Trollope

Anthony Trollope by Samuel Laurence

Though Anthony Trollope's (1815-1882) first novels were not successful, The Warden set him on a lifelong career of writing. It was followed by five more novels, all which took place in the fictional county of Barsetshire. He even created a map for it! (See below) They came to be known as the Barsetshire Chronicles, or sometimes, the Barchester Chronicles. All are available as free eBooks online at Project Gutenberg, and also Adelaide University in Australia, which is where I got mine. They have probably most of Trollope's books available, and are arranged better than Project Gutenberg's, plus their books are edited more carefully and contain few typos.

Written from 1855 to 1867, they are gentle stories of the trials and tribulations of people living in these Victorian towns, romantic and political and relationships between the clergy, gentry and others. They also contain wry humor, with Trollope poking fun at issues of the era.

In the images below, the first is the actual book I read, but the rest are pictures I found on Google of various editions, audiobooks, and other images that I found pleasing to represent the other five volumes. Enjoy these delightful stories.

Barsetshire Chronicles

The Warden (1855)

The Warden

Barchester Towers (1857)

Barchester Towers

Dr. Thorne (1858)

Dr. Thorne

Framley Parsonage (1861)

Framley Parsonage

The Small House at Allington (1864)

The Small House at Allington

The Last Chronicle of Barset (1867)

The Last Chronicle of Barset

Trollope's Map of Barsetshire County


All material on this site copyright © 2017 by Laughing Crow.
This site designed and written by Laughing Crow.